Fergus Black organ recital at Burghley House

High Notes Music Society logo

Organ Recital at Burghley House
with Fergus Black
Saturday 28th September at 4.45
(doors open 4.30)

Burghley Voices Chamber Choir logo

Saturday 28th September at 4.45pm

at the Chapel of Burghley House
(all this Organ Music can be found in Georgian editions in the Music Library of Burghley House.

Domenico Zipoli (1688 – 1726)
Toccata and Canzona in d minor
from "A third collection of toccates, vollentarys and fugues for the organ or harpsicord with particular great pieces for the churchmade upon several occasions..." Publisher: London : J. Walsh & J. Hare, [ca 1722] (BH 1486)

Thomas Roseingrave (1688 – 1766)
Voluntary 4 (in g minor) and Fugue 10 (in G major)
from "Voluntarys and Fugues made on purpose for the Organ or Harpsichord"
Publisher: London : J. Walsh & J. Hare
(BH 1242)

George Frederick Handel (1685 – 1757)
Concerto in 'Judas Maccabeus'
comprises the 1st, 2d and 5th of the original 6 movements, plus the March from Judas Maccabeus, from a manuscript in the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge,
Burghley House holds the William Randall edition of the oratorio (catalogue BH 834)

John Keeble (c.1711 – 1786)
Voluntary 1 in G major
Andante - Largo - Adagio - [Allegro]
from "Selected Pieces .....
BH 1020

Stanley (1712 – 1786)
Voluntary 2 in a minor from Opus 6
Andante - Allegro
from "Ten Voluntarys for the Organ or Harpsichord Opera Sesta"
Published London; "Printed for John Johnson at the Harp and Crown in Cheapside"
BH 1386

Richard Mudge (1718 — 1763)
Allegro ma non Presto - the last movement of the Concerto No 6 in F major
from "Six concertos in seven parts, five for four violins, a tenor violin, and violoncello, with a thorough bass for the harpsichord and one concerto for the organ or harpsicord, with instruments: to which is added, Non nobis Domine, in 8 parts"
Published London: John Walsh, n.d. [1749]
BH 1148

Charles Avison (1709 – 1770)
Concerto in D major Op. 9 No. 12
Adagio – Allergro Spiritoso – Aria Pastorale – Allegro
from Twelve Concertos (Divided into two Sets) for two violins, one alto-viola, and a violoncello. This work is also adapted to the Practice of the Organ or Harptsichord alone ... (1766)
Published London, Printed for the Author and Sold by R Bremner in the Strand
BH 280

Stacks Image 347
Something wrong?
Ticket Prices £2.50 from Stamford Arts Centre: 01780 763203
Or online from South Kesteven District Council